Parliament attack 2001: Here is all you need to know

Parliament Attack 2001: It was on December 13, 2001 when five heavily-armed terrorists belonging to terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), entered the Parliament complex in New Delhi and opened fire indiscriminately.

Around 14 people, mostly security forces and one civilian, were killed in the attack.

The terror strike took place around 40 minutes after Parliament was adjourned and about 100 members were present in the building.

Here is all you need to know:

# Five terrorists stormed the parliament house on December 13, 2001, soon after the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha  was adjourned

# The gunmen entered the parliament with the car of former Indian Vice President Krishan Kant

# More than 100 people, including former Home Minister L K Advani were present in the parliament

# Constable Kamlesh Kumari Yadav was the first person to die in this incident

# Five terrorists, Six Delhi Police Personnel, two Parliament Security Service Personnel and a gardener were killed in this incident, which comes to a total of fourteen people

# The names of the five terrorists who were killed in the incident are Hamza, Haider alias Tufail, Rana, Ranvijay and Mohammed, according to Delhi Police

# Mohammad Afzal Guru, Shaukat Hussain Guru (cousin of Afzal Guru), and S A R Gilani received a death sentence for their crimes
Afzal Guru was hanged on February 9, 2013 in Tihar Jail.

The post Parliament attack 2001: Here is all you need to know appeared first on NewsroomPost.

from NewsroomPost